The best way to learn a culture is to learn its language. Do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether pursuing a language is the best approach to learn a culture has sparked a considerable debate in society. While some argue that this idea is effective, I firmly disagree with this notion, as there are also other factors that can contribute to understanding foreign cultures more deeply.

On the one hand, language is often seen as a reflection of culture. Languages can embody unique values of each culture through specific linguistic expressions. In other words, linguistic structures are deeply interconnected with nation’s worldviews and collective identities. For example, the japanese language includes the phrase “itadakimasu”, which reflects gratitude as well as respect, that illustrates essential cultural value rooted in Japan’s society. Were learners to neglect learning languages, they would fail to completely understand native speakers’ cultural mindsets. Therefore, focusing on learning languages plays a pivotal role in better grasping not only culture, but also people’s worldviews.

On the other hand, cultural heritage of nations is not limited with to languages. Factors, such as cuisine, arts, and customs, play a compelling role in shaping national culture. People can experience culture through travel, media, and traditions even without fluency. Not until individuals immerse themselves in cultural practices can they truly comprehend cultures. For example, it is not required to master the language in order to enjoy Italian opera or Chinese cuisine, which can illustrate their rich cultural heritage. Consequently, foreign cultures can be greatly grasped through not only linguistic knowledge, but also local traditions.

To conclude, although mastering a language can significantly contribute in undertsnding of cultures, this is not the only of achieving it; the real comprehence of culture can be reached by the combination of both linguistic and lived experience.