The best way to learn a culture is to learn its language. Do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, it is widely debated that learning a language is the most effective way to become familiar with a nation’s culture. I completely agree with this view, since a language represents cultural traditions and values of the country.

On the one hand, it is the national language that reflects the culture. Acquiring native language allows individuals to be immersed deeply not only in moral values, but also social behaviour of the country. Should a person learn a foreign language, they would be able to comprehend local idioms and proverbs, which provides a deeper interaction with citizens. Examples can be seen in the Japanese language, where the phrase “itadikimasu” reflects gratitude and thankfulness, which contributes largely to open communication with locals. Consequently, investigating a new language may be the best way to understand the cultural traditions of the nation.

On the other hand, culture is much more extensive than just a language. It includes cuisine, art and festivals. People can experience cultural values through not only travel, but also media. For instance, due to the Italian’s large attribution to food and fashion, it may be enjoyed even without mastering a fluency. Therefore, the mother tongue of a country is not the only way that represents its heritage.

In conclusion, although cultural identity can be examined through the other spheres such as food and art, learning a language remains the best gateway. I firmly believe that such an approach enables real understanding of the culture rather than other ways.