You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

While some individuals find that advanced technology has enhanced people’s bonds by facilitating communication, I firmly believe it has driven people apart because it limits face-to-face interaction and weakens social skills.

On the one hand, modern technology has without any shadow of doubt brought individuals together. Nowadays, with multiple social media applications such as WhatsApp, Facebook, and Instagram, distance is no longer a problem. People from all different sides of the world can meet together within a few seconds, and with just a simple touch on the screen, they can share their daily life with their online friends. This not only demolishes distances’ barriers but also enhances and facilitates communication among individuals significantly. For instance, a lot of teenagers have struck up new friendships in recent years through being online and chatting with people their age from all over the world. In this sense, technology has been a powerful tool for preserving bonds that geography would otherwise weaken.

On the other hand, advanced technology has been one of the main reasons that have driven people apart. Being focused on these innovations can cause a huge problem for human social life. People who are usually online have the tendency to lack a lot of crucial and fundamental social skills as they no longer go for face-to-face interactions with others. Therefore, individuals become more distant and isolated and even more aggressive towards others. To add insult to injury, the lack of real communication and the cyber addiction can tear bonds between people and even transform family members into strangers. A clear illustration of this is the increasing rate of young people’s suicides, which outlines the real damage of being too digitally connected rather than having a real conversation and family mental support. In this respect, modern technology has undoubtedly destroyed all people bonds, creating fragile personalities and weak characters.

In conclusion, although technology offers valuable tools for maintaining long-distance relationships, I believe we should be more concerned about its dark face hidden behind its deceiving mask because it’s no longer a secret that these innovations are life-threatening when it comes to tearing people’s bonds and driving them apart.