You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It has been firmly believed that modern technology has brought closeness between people, while others widely argued it has led to social isolation. Both perspectives have merit, however, in my opinion, although technology has made the global communication possible and accessible, it has ultimately weakened deep connections in various aspects of life.

On one side, many advocated that it is an undeniable fact that technology has advanced communication worldwide. Regardless of geographical barriers, it allows people to keep in touch through virtual interactions. Social networking platforms, such as Facebook, Instagram, provides online-communities to strengthen bonds and facilitate communications. Besides, real-time communication is accessible within instant connectivity, enabling individuals to maintain long-distance relationships with ease.

Despite enhancing social interaction globally, others strongly argued that excessive reliance on digital devices can lead to social isolation and weakened interpersonal skills. Screen addiction has soared dramatically among people nowadays, lacking face-to-face interactions. For instance, family dinners tend to be quieter, with family members spending more screen-time rather than engaging in real-life conversation. This leads to digital dependency and emotional detachment.

From my perspective, although it plays a crucial role in bringing people closer in together today’s globalized world, it contributes largely to certain social issues these days. The convenience of digital communications can never fully replace the emotional depth and connection of in-person interaction. For example, celebrating a person’s birthday through videocall can never be compared to laughs, hugs and moments of celebrating it physically.

In summary, while technological advancements bring out accessibility and convenience globally, I strongly, it has also lead to a reduction in deeper emotional bonds and intimacy. Therefore, I believe that despite its many advantages, technology has, to some extent, driven us apart socially.