The best way to make the road transport of goods safer is to ask drivers to take a driving test each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the increasing rate of road traffic accidents in major cities, a growing number of people assert that the most effective method to ensure that the road is safe for its users, is to compel drivers to take yearly driving exams. While I partially agree with this statement, I think ensuring that the road is in good shape would also contribute to making it safe for motorist.

Admittedly, yearly driving exams would help the authorities in charge of road safety identify drivers who find it difficult or unimportant to obey and observe the rules guiding road use . In the contemporary world, there are a number of principles guiding road use;such as honk before overtaking, avoidance of alcohol while driving, and do not drive without seat belts on. During the driving test, which is often practical, the motorist is supervised, to see if he or she observed the necessary road rules while driving. If not, the driver is retrained. Consequently, this help limit the incidence of road traffic accidents often caused by lack of adherence to safe road principles.

However, I believe that ensuring that the roads are in good shape would also ensure the road is safe. When the roads are well structured without potholes, drivers would not leave the lane they are driving on to another. For instance, the report broadcast on BBC, by Nigeria road safety corp on 13th, September, 2023 reveal that 80 percent of road traffic accidents happened while the drivers were trying to navigate on bad roads. Thus, it is important for government to make sure the roads are constructed with sophisticated materials, and equipment that can stand the test of time.

In conclusion, while annual driving test help identify drivers that need to be retrained to ensure safe road, making sure the roads are motorable would further reduce the rate of accidents on the road.