The best way to make the road transport of goods safer is to ask drivers to take a driving test each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some believe requiring drivers to take yearly driving tests is the best way to enhance road safety. While acknowledging some supporting this opinion, I firmly believe that frequent driving tests have their downsides.

Granted, one might argue that frequent driving tests help drivers promote awareness of updated rules. This seems reasonable since traffic regulations are often revised to improve safety, and regular testing could ensure that drivers stay informed about new laws. However, this line of reasoning fails to mention that the tendency to driving tests puts a lot of psychological pressure on drivers. This is because testing millions of drivers yearly will affect the psychology of careful drivers. Having to take regular driving tests can sometimes be a source of anxiety for working adults or even older drivers.

It is noteworthy that having driving tests has other negative aspects. One of them is that frequent tests could lead to unnecessary stress. Rather than requiring annual testing, a more effective approach would be targeted testing of high-risk individuals, such as repeat traffic offenders or those involved in accidents. Another downside is that driver testing can be financially costly. For instance, annual driver’s license testing is time-consuming and expensive for drivers, especially low-income workers.

In conclusion, while annual driving tests are considered the most effective way to improve road safety, I firmly believe that they also have downsides. Excessive pressure and financial cost are among my viewpoints.