The best way to motivate employees is to increase their salaries. Do you agree with this statement? Are there any other ways to encourage employees to work more efficiently? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is vital to encourage employees. Some people believe that the best method to encourage them is by increasing their salaries. While this method works for many working citizens, I believe that there are other methods that might work better depending on the type of employee,employee; for instance, for an employee who seeks to have his efforts acknowledged, team recognition works best. Another method worth noting is hosting business parties whenever there are significant achievements.

Considering the current state of businesses, some are barely profiting and others are going bankrupt, top management are striving to keep their employees motivated to aid in earning profit. One of the most common methods used is increasing their salaries. While money is a very important factor to live in this economy, managers seem to forget that money is not everything. Take into account the marginal utility of satisfaction concept. Giving an employee a raise motivates them temporarily; however, as months pass by, the employee gets used to receiving the salary and loses motivation easily.easily loses motivation. On the other hand, if top management considers implementing a team recognition concept, that is, whenever an employee succeeds in meeting a target, they are celebrated and rewarded with a certificate. In this case, it is most likely that the worker remains motivated and works harder seeking more acknowledgement.

Another way would be hosting business parties whenever they launch a successful project or meetingmeet a goal. For example, in my company, when we sign a contract with a new client or partner, the whole company celebrates us, the department members, the company, and the client themselves. This gives us the feeling that there are events worth celebrating. Despite the party lasting for around 2-3 hours, the motivation lasts with us longer than those receiving raises.

In conclusion, it is extremely important to keep the company’s workers encouraged. Despite people believing that a giving the worker a raise will do the job, it is not as effective as they think as they tend to get used to receiving the same salary for several months. Personally, I believe that team recognition and celebrating events are more effective tothan giving raises.