The clothing and fashion industries have a big influence on people. Is this a good or bad thing?

Global fashion has a huge influence on the type of clothing people prefer. The internet has made a huge contribution to popularizing fashion trends worldwide. However, the increasing influence of these dressing trends can be considered a negative development due to many cultural factors. This essay will provide a detailed explanation and a personal opinion on this topic.

Firstly, pop culture has a huge influence on people, with various famous celebrities and designers determining the flow of trends. With increased internet connectivity throughout the world, many people are influenced by the way certain popular figures, like models and movie stars, dress. According to a report, designs worn by these famous figures determine the flow of fashion among modern people due to their huge fan following. Moreover, the urge to meet the clothing standards set by the mainstream industry causes people to follow their way of dressing.

Secondly, the increased globalization of fashion has a negative impact on local designers and may have several cultural impacts. Various local designers are forced to follow these trends due to their high demand, which leads to a lack of creativity from them. Additionally, various traditions require people to dress in a certain way that might not align with the latest fashion, due to which people might abandon their cultural dresses. For example, if the majority of people in society decided to follow celebrities and imitate their styling, they might not prefer their traditional attire in order to do so, leading to a loss of heritage. Nevertheless, the global fashion industry might impact several local traditions and small-scale designers.

To conclude, we can say that even though celebrities play a huge role in shaping the global trends of fashion through their influence on people, I believe this has a negative impact on traditions and upcoming designers who are willing to integrate their creativity but might be unable to do so due to the high demand for worldwide trends.