The continued rise in the world's population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

These days, the world’s population has skyrocketed significantly due to several causes. As a result, it has become the biggest problem faced by humanity. In this essay, I will examine reasons for this and present my stance that why I agree with the statement.

There are several reasons behind this phenomenon. Firstly, increased life expectancy in the technologically advanced world allows people to live longer. Research has shown that people nowadays are more long-lived than ever before. This is because of the innovation of vaccines and preventive medicine or treatment, all chronic and acute diseases are curable that are previously untreatable. Secondly, a reduced child mortality rate is also a major cause of population growth. It can be seen that there are several techniques available in the market for newborn screening. This method would allow parents to reduce infant mortality rates when they can detect hidden conditions that can cause serious disability or even death if not treated immediately.

Increased population leads to severe problems in society or nation. Primarily, it would increase the poverty rate in the country. There may be no sufficient resources to meet citizen’s demands, which may eventually lead to starvation or the problem of hunger in society. There are many inhabitants in the largest populated countries such as India and China, who cannot fulfill their basic needs including food, clothing, and shelter to live a life. Besides poverty, this situation is a major reason for some diseases to spread easily. The more crowded the population is, the more easily spread the diseases, especially air-borne diseases. It can be seen that highly populated countries have faced severe situations, where diseases that spread through respiratory droplets, are hard to tackle and address the issue in a shorter time span.

To conclude, I agree that the increased world population is the biggest issue because it would increase poverty and spread diseases quickly. Meanwhile, several medical treatments would prevent death at the born time and increase lifespan.