The current trend in education is tok move away from traditional exams and instead have continuous assessment over the school year. What do you think of this trend?

I think there might be two possible reasons for the current trend of replacing exams with continuous assessment: ensuring continuity and reducing exam stress. First of all, in my opinion, education shouldn’t be a short-term process; instead, it should cover the whole period. Conventional methods may make students think that they can handle it a few days before the exam. It shortens the time for study and makes the knowledge temporary. Recent studies show that the main aim of education is to develop lifelong learning habits, and limiting the learning process with exam terms contradicts this idea. Instead, evaluating students based on their consistency is more valuable than a one-time task. Secondly, I think that the biggest disadvantage of traditional exams is the stress they cause. The idea that the success of a year depends just on exams can cause stress for students and can affect their motivation badly. Rather, knowing that the whole work that they accomplish is part of their success will be better for their mental state. In conclusion, I believe that the current trend of substituting continuous evaluation for tests has positive effects on maintaining continuity and lowering exam anxiety.