The death penalty is the best way to control and reduce serious crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the best way to control and decrease extreme crime is the death penalty. This essay hereby aims to delve deeper into this school of thought and shed light on my opposition.

Indeed, the death sentence can limit and manage the number of people committing serious crimes. Capital punishment deters criminals from contemplating crime as it sends a clear message that crime is morally wrong. In addition, they have to pay an incredibly high cost so it eliminates the possibility of criminals re-offending. As a result, the death sentence prevents people from taking wrong actions.

On the other hand, a long-term prison sentence can solve serious crime problems better. It gives them an opportunity to re-educate and re-socialise in spite of ending their lives. For instance, if criminals obey prison rules well and have a good attitude, they can have their sentences reduced and soon return to a good life. Consequently, a long-term sentence not only controls crime but also helps them find the light of life again.

In conclusion, the long-term prison can handle problems about serious crime better than the death penalty. Personally, I think that capital punishment is partly effective in reducing crimes; however, it is too cruel for them since they don’t have a chance to learn from their mistakes.