The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally.

It is often argued that tourism plays a major role in English becoming the most well-known language in the world. Therefore, leading it to become the only language spoken around the world. In this essay, I will give the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world.

Firstly, an advantage is that having one language makes communication easier for everyone, as more people would be able to understand each other. For instance, in some countries individuals often use their mother language to connect with one another. This demonstrates that people born in some countries might not be taught to speak English. Which, having one language might bring people together as they will fully understand each other.

Secondly, having one language would mean that there would be less cultures, because culture is usually connected to language, which makes it a disadvantage. To illustrate, most countries often feel that language is tied to culture and traditions. Some people like exploring, while it might make people communicate easier, it is a loss for everyone who is proud of their traditions and festivals. Festivals lead to exploration, people around the world get curious about languages and it leads them to want to learn and know more.

In conclusion, the disadvantages of having one language in the world is more significant than the advantages. Being able to communicate might be good for society but it would lead to less cultures and exploration. Languages connect everyone around the world together and it unlocks traditions and cultures.