The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally.

It is thought that English would predominate any other languages around the world, and becoming the only language to be spoken. This situation may have some advantages and disadvantages for the people with the different culture and language.

One feasible benefit with the idea of one language for everyone is the understanding. By using the same language, people could mutually understand, regardless their background. This leads to the transfer of information, technology, and knowledge. Furthermore, the developing countries would catch up sooner to the developed ones. The other benefit with the same language is the cooperation between the neighbourhood countries. Cooperative trading between nations will occur more, the economy will flourish.

On the other hand, having only one language and erasing the others means degradation of a culture. The diversity of cultures between nations is unique, language shapes the way of thinking and it creates arts such as songs, traditional dance, and even a kind of traditional house. This uniqueness brings tourism enthusiast from around the globe to travel, to see the different and new things. The loss of the diversity will affect the countries relied on tourism as the main source of income, heavily.

In conclusion, while there are several positivity to have English as the only language, too much would be lost as a result. The balance between understanding the English as a lingua franca and keeping its own language alive should be the priority. This will benefit the next generation