The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

The development of tourism is becoming fast, providing an opportunity for English to be the most convenient language in the world. Some people believe that English will be the only language spoken globally. This essay will discuss both the positive and the negative aspects of having a single global language.

One major advantage of having one global language is that most people can communicate with other cultures without any challenges. Firstly, if individuals travel around the world, it will give them a great chance to understand each other’s cultures. For instance, they will have special reasons for understanding each other, such as reducing language barriers, exchanging cultural experiences, and acquiring new knowledge. Another advantage is that it can provide convenient conditions for international relationships.

However, there is a significant drawback, such as it poses a threat to minority languages. In this last century, some 400 languages have become extinct, and if the development of tourism continues, there will be a loss of unique culture. For example, massive countries such as China, Russia, and Canada will become extinct inusmuch as people stop teaching their native tongue to children.

In conclusion, while a single global language could improve communication and cooperation, it also risks damaging cultural identity and equality.