The differences between countries are becoming less and less evident, as people all over the world wear the same fashions, use the same brands, have similar eating habits and watch the same TV channels. Does the advantage of this trend outweigh its disadvantage?

In this era of globalization, human characteristics among nations are no longer different from each other. They tend to live in similar ways in every aspect of life: dressing in clothes, watching particular TV channels, using the same brands, and having diets. However, I believe that the benefits, particularly in terms of following global trends, far outweigh the disadvantages. It’s not only beneficial for individuals but also for societies.

On the one hand, following a global lifestyle is attractive for some reasons. To begin with, global access to similar media, fashion, and lifestyles can foster understanding and collaboration between countries. It is easier for people to travel and navigate new environments, they may not feel the culture shock because there is no significant difference between their countries. For example, travelers wear the same type of clothes and eat the same kind of food as local residents. In this way, people have more opportunities to appreciate and learn about different ways of life. This led to a harmonious connection between nations around the world and promoted globalization. Moreover, global consumers who use the same brands can force companies and factories to improve the quality of products, as companies want to meet the global market.

On the other hand, the disadvantage of globalization can happen when global changes become too excessive. The first and foremost detrimental issue is losing local cultures and traditions. Some cultures require traditional clothes and rigid policies, so the acceptance of global trends will be not received. For example, in India, women have to wear a lot of layers of clothing so when it comes to changing the style of clothes, it may be criticized.

In conclusion, despite the disadvantages of global trends, the advantages still outweigh it so that universal citizens can receive more benefits.