The dmage done to the environment by human actions are high. What are the causes and effects?

Human activities are believed to be posing a threat to the natural environment. I acknowledge that there are multiple reasons behind this concern, yet I also firmly believe that unless these activities are stopped, there will be imminent consequences.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why this is the case, yet the primary one is urbanization. In other words, the area and number of cities are expanding, as people are flooding into cities in search of brighter life. To satisfy their needs, governments are expanding the city areas, primarily due to the destruction of forested lands, leaving hundreds of animal species without habitat. This resulted in the extinction of several vulnerable species which could not adapt to the new environment. Take crocodiles as an example. When their habitats were destroyed due to urbanization, they were introduced to other zones. However, they could not adjust to the new environment, as native animals mostly consisted of pythons which started to feed on them. And in a brief moment, hundreds of crocodiles went extinct.

Moreover, after the construction of cities, there can be a need to employ new people. Therefore, an increasing number of fabrics were constructed along with the thousands of transports to carry them. As a result, the emission of toxic gases, such as CO (carbon monoxide) and exhaust fumes (gas produced by cars) into the atmosphere has significantly increased, leading to the damaging ozone layer and greenhouse effect (global warming).

In conclusion, there are multiple reasons, like urbanization and satisfying human needs, behind damaging the environment, which came with their own drawbacks