The government should reduce the amount of money spent on local environmental problems and instead increase funding into urgent and more threatening issues such as global warming. To what extent do you agree?

Public parks play a central role in improving the quality of life in cities. However, some people argue that these open spaces should be replaced with housing projects or commercial buildings for ever growing population and boost economies. Here, to major extent I disagree with this view and relevant reasons will be discussed in this essay.

As far as public parks are concerned parks contribute significantly to the physical and mental well-being of people. To simplify this, green spaces act as a natural stress relievers, provide a peaceful environment for exercise, relaxations and social interactions. In cities, people often live in small apartment; therefore, parks become essential for maintaining mental health. Not only this but it reduces lifestyle disease such as obesity, high blood pressure, and diabetes. To explain, individuals have green surrounding for exercising. Moreover, Parks improve air quality by absorbing pollutants and producing oxygen. It also reduces heat and noise. One of the worth mentioning reasons comes here, Parks help to prevent the concrete jungle effect and support biodiversity with in cities because trees are habitat of birds.

On the Contrary, for housing shortage to be maintained in densely populated cities, replacing parks with housing is essential. Futhermore, offices, Malls and commercial zones create job opportunities and make profit; therefore, it helps to boost economy. What is more, certain areas and parks are remained empty and these places do not benefit people, so converting them into residential area seems to be practical.

To conclude, public parks provide physical and mental well-being, improve air quality, prevent concrete jungle and support biodiversity, so public parks are important. However, housing and buildings should be developed in vacant areas.