The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement ?
These days, the government spends a large part of its budget not only on public services, but also
the arts. Although I agree that it is important to spend money on public services, I do not think
spending on the arts is a waste of money.
There are several reasons for spending a significant amount of the government budget on public
services. First and foremost, public services include hospitals, roads and schools, and these
determine the quality of life that most of us will have. A case in point, if the government does
not spend enough money on hospitals, the health of our society may decline. Similarly, if not
enough money is spent on schools, our children may not be properly educated. Also, it will be
the poor in our society that will be affected more if we do not spend enough on these things
because they are the ones more dependent on such services.
However, this does not mean that the arts should be completely neglected. To begin, it is difficult
for many arts institutions to generate much profit, so without some help from the government,
many theaters and other such places may have to close. Moreover, the arts also have an
important impact on our quality of life. Many people get great pleasure in going to see music and
theatre performances so it is important that the government assists such institutions so that they
can continue to provide entertainment to the public.
To sum up, there are clear benefits of ensuring a large amount of investment goes into public
services as this influences the quality of life for nearly all of us. That said, I do not believe
spending money on the arts is a waste of money as this too provides important benefits.