The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in school curriculum. To what extent do you agree?

Due to unprecedented increase in the number of overweight people, some suggest incorporating more physical education lessons in the school day. I agree that this can be one way of tackling the issue, but diet must also be taken into consideration.

Increasing the level of physical activity among schoolers can help prevent obesity from an early age. By keeping them active, this idea encourages them to develop healthy habits and maintain a reasonable weight. Furthermore, such habits will undoubtedly stay with students even after school accomplishment, possibly preventing other health issues in adulthood.

It is also vital to consider diet as another crucial factor. Healthy eating habits are key ingredients of a healthy lifestyle. Thus, every student should be taught about what constitutes healthy food to ensure a new generation of people who understand clean eating. Additionally, for a more immediate impact, it also important to look at the alarming numbers of ultra processed foods on the market. For example, governments could impose a tax on UPFs on the market, while also reducing the price of healthy foods like vegetables.

In conclusion, I believe the best approach to tackling weight issues in the population starts with diet and exercise in schools but must also include encouraging a healthier diet through price changes targeting specific foods on the market.