The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in school curriculum.

The growing problem of obesity has been a constant issue in our lives. Several authorities are trying to deal with this problem by implementing more PE lessons in the schooling system. I certainly believe, that such modifications may solve the problem, however there are various other solutions to this matter.

Firstly, increasing the number of physical education classes will help children and young adults to learn many movement types and sports, such as, football, athletics, and basketball. This will show them that physical activity can be joyful, and it could be a way to put their mind off during the day. Secondly everyday movement increases our sleep quality, helps losing excessive fat faster, and provides an overall fulfilment and constancy during our busy weekdays.

However, there are other components that should be added next to physical activity, to increase the chances of a healthier and less overweight society. Healthy eating habits are crucial to maintain an overall healthy lifestyle. There are many healthy food choices and several diets which can add to our weight control. For example, in New York, every elementary and secondary school has a “No meat Monday”. So basically sacrificing just one day to eat vegetarian foods only, making the children meals more colourful, nutritious, and healthier.

In conclusion, adding more Physical Education lessons can provide a better fitness for children in school, while constant activity may conclude to losing excessive fat, maintaining a healthy diet is just as important. Therefore, I think providing both is the best alternative to deal with such issues.