The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashioned will be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life

In today’s digital age, it has become more and more frequent that people would get more than a single job to fulfill their economic needs. Although there are many reasons to this, like pursuing a different interest along with their primary job, it’s mostly due to the people’s inability to sustain themselves and their family with a single job, likely due to the low minimum wage as is very common in countries like US nowadays. It is simply not feasible to survive with one job these days, as groceries get pricier and pricier with each coming week. So, although I am inclined to disagree that it’s something that should become the new norm, there’s unfortunate growing need for such jobs and people are left with no other choice but to force themselves through multiple jobs.

We live in a capitalist world that rewards the wealthy, and punishes the poor. It’s a flawed system that we have yet to have alternative solution for. In the meantime, while politicians argue and pass bills that only help select few of the population, we must make do with the cards we’ve been dealt with, even if it means pushing ourselves past our limits and risk our health and safety to make ends meet.

There is, however, more positive reasons why someone may desire multiple jobs – like pursuing a hobby, while earning money doing it. Many of youtubers and streamers fall onto this category, although people may vary on whether or not they can sustain such passion alongside their primary one. Some make streaming their primary job, as contrary to the popular belief, there’s a lot of time and effort needed to pursue this kind of endeavor.

Overall, it is my honest opinion that although I would like for everyone to be able to get on with their lives without a need for multiple careers, with the exception of more hobby-related careers, most unfortunately must make do with the economical situation our society puts us through.