"Some people think that public art improves cities. Do you agree or disagree?"

The importance of public art seems to be a widespread concern throughout the world. It is believed that public art is an improvement for the cities. I partly agree with the statement in several aspects tuat will be mentioned in this essay.

On the one hand, public art is a necesarry for the cities. When public art exists, cities may be more fun and interesting. What I mean is that if municipalities gives access to do individuals public art such as installations, paintings, and sculptures, it could help for the cities collective memory, culture and social life, which are key facts that can imprpve a city. According to a survey conducted in Turkey, public art is dramatically increased in Istanbul which some of them are included to some artshows such as biennales. Thus, the impact of public art is should not be underestimated.

On the other hand, even it may improve cities, there may be negative impacts as well. When giving access for public art is not controlled enough, it could damage society bonds and places. To make it clear, for example, uncontrolled paintings can contain dangerous content which can cause psychological harm on people, especially children. Experts warn that increasing amount of uncontrolled vandalism may effect children’s mental health. Hence, public art is a serious issue which should be controlled by public and municipalities.

In conclusion, as stated above, I partially agree with the statement that public art such as sculptures and paintings, could improve cities; however, it must be controlled seriously by municipalities. From my perspective, the pros and cons of this issue should be carefully evaluated.