The increase in food production is mostly due to fertilisers and better machinery. Yet, some think that it harms human health and communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the development of fertillisers and better machinery is the reason for the rise in food production, others argue that it affects negatively on people’s health and society. To the best of my belief, i partly agree with this opinion.

On the one hand, fertilisers and modern machinery play an important role in improving the efficiency and security of food production. It is fertilisers that shorten the growing process of plants and enhance their quality. For instance, up-to-date fertilisers provide plants with essential nutrition and develop plants’ resistance, help them protect from insects, rodents and mould. Moreover, the advancement in machinery can replace the labour of humans to do dangerous work. To be more specific, humans no longer have to do dangerous manual work such as direct exposure to heat or chemicals with the help of robots. Hence, applying fertilisers with technology can positively contribute to the quantity of food production and ensure the health of humans.

On the other hand, the development of fertilisers and machinery also has negative consequences on human and community. The chemical wastes in fertilizers and the wastes in machinery affect both the environment and human health. To illustrate, chemicals in fertilizers and machine emissions are the causes of environmental problems such as water contamination, air pollution and bring serious diseases to humans. Besides, the development of technology and machines can lead to joblessness in some fields that relate to agricultural production. Employees become redundant and they can have a high chance of being unemployed, which affects negatively on community. As a result, it can not be denied that the advancement of fertilisers and machines also impacts badly on human’s health and community.

In conclusion, although fertilisers and machinery bring countless benefits to the mass of food production, the bad influence of them to human and society can not be denied.