The increase in food production is mostly due to fertilisers and better machinery. Yet, some think that it harms human health and communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, food production has increased significantly due to the widespread use of fertilisers and modern agriculture machinery. While these developments have improved the farming efficiency, some people argue that fertilisers and modern machinery have negative impacts on both individual’s health and environment. Therefore, I partly agree with this view because, although they provide considerable benefits, they may create certain problems.

On the one hand, fertilisers and modern agriculture technology have greatly improved agriculture productivity. So, there are many beneficial reasons for this. One of them is that advanced technologies create the new way to cultivate the larger areas in a less time, while fertilisers help crops to grow faster than in the past. For instance, people cultivated the agriculture lands with simple tools during a long time, and they could harvest the crops two times a year in the past. Consequently, food has become more affordable. And they reducing the risk of food shortages in many countries because of the global population continues to increase.

On the other hand, the excessive use of chemical fertilisers can have negative consequences. One of the most reason is that chemical substances may remain in crops, posing the risks to both people and environment. Furthermore, the increasing of widespread use of machinery has reduced requirement for manual works, that leading to unemployment in some rural areas. Therefore, government should control use of chemical fertilisers and widespread use of modern technology.

In conclusion, although fertilisers and advanced machinery have played a crucial role in increasing of food production, I believe that they have also negative effects if they are overused than balanced quantity.