The increasing availability of low-cost airlines now lets people travel around the world. Some feel this is a positive development while others think it is negative overall. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

The increase in the availability of cheap airlines now enables the masses to travel to any corner of the globe. This essay will articulate both views and as far as I am concerned, I am in favor of the first notion.

To commence with the positive side, the first and foremost point is that it can be affordable for all classes of society. To explain it, in the past, airlines were primarily a mode of transportation for wealthy people; however, due to the accessibility of low-cost airlines, even poor-class families can afford to travel wherever they desire. For example, a survey conducted by Indigo Airlines revealed that 58% of their passengers in 2020 belonged to middle-class families. As a result, with low-cost airlines, people with limited budgets can afford vacations domestically or to foreign nations.

Shifting towards the negative aspect of the increase in cheap airlines, firstly, overcrowding. In other words, with the rise in the availability of affordable airlines, a greater number of people travel to other places, leading to over-tourism and over-crowdedness in some areas, which also impacts the available resources in those regions. For instance, a headline published by the famous newspaper ‘The Hindustan Times’ indicated that Vietnam faced overcrowding in 2019 when travellers unnecessarily gathered at the place in large numbers. Hence, the accessibility of cheap airlines could result in economic imbalance.

In conclusion, although the increase in low-cost airlines leads to overpopulation in certain places, I believe that it has made travelling possible and easy for all sectors of society.