The increasing availability of low-cost airlines now lets people travel around the world. Some feel this is a positive development while others think it is negative overall. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

one school of thought holds that the decrease in the cost of airlines would be a positive innovation for travelers, whereas others believe that this tendency may bring enormous pitfalls. This essay attempts to shed light on both perspectives before concluding that I am in favor of the latter notion.

On the one hand, reasonable prices for air travel could be advantageous to a certain extent. Firstly, this practical approach would attract many tourists. To illustrate, if the price of air travel is cost-effective, individuals would willingly spend their money to travel to other countries, which leads to a boost in the profits of the tourism industry. For example, Vietnam has attracted billions of travelers per year, gaining tremendous revenue from tourism, contributing to national funding and helping Vietnam reconstruct its infrastructure and healthcare system to benefit its citizens. Secondly, low-cost airlines would create more job opportunities. This can be explained by the fact that lower flight prices encourage tourists to travel more, resulting in some attractions requiring a large workforce to serve international travellers and meet their expectations. Consequently, the unemployment rate would be addressed.

On the other hand, there are compelling reasons why I am convinced that this tendency may have adverse impacts on society. One rationale is that decreasing flight ticket prices has a detrimental impact on the environment. Although the rise of low-cost airlines has led to a significant increase in air travel, contributing to higher carbon emissions, more flights result in greater fuel consumption and pollution, exacerbating climate change and negatively affecting the environment. Another justification is that the quality of service may be adversely affected. Low-cost airlines often prioritize cost-cutting measures, which can lead to reduced quality of service, such as a lack of seating and limited accommodations. Such negative impacts not only result in less enjoyable travel experiences but also cause frustration among travelers who may have expected a higher standard of service.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that lowering the cost of air travel would attract tourists and create more job opportunities, I contend that this tendency is inclined to cause environmental degradation and a decrease in service quality.