The increasing availability of low-cost airlines now lets people travel around the world. Some feel this is a positive development while others think it is negative overall. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, there is an ongoing debate about the tendency towards low-cost flight. This essay delves into both sides of this phenomenon and contends why I suppose that it is a negative development.

On the one hand, low-cost airlines can boost accessibility due to their affordable prices. In fact, airlines were used to serve the middle class in the past, however, the advent of low-cost flights allows people with limited budgets to afford to go on vacation domestically or internationally. For example, a round-trip ticket from London to Barcelona can currently be purchased for a little over $20. This, in turn, gives an opportunity for those who have an average income, or even students to explore new places. As a result, favorable mobility can lead to an increasing number of tourists, reinforcing tourism as well as economic status.

On the other hand, I strongly believe its disadvantages are more significant. Firstly, overtourism is one of the most prominent concerns. Take a prevalent area that experiences a surge in visitors, such as Hoi An Ancient Town in Viet Nam, as an example. Indeed, due to high tourist’ density and a huge amount of trash, it may strain local resources as well as exacerbate fragile ecosystems. Moreover, a higher number of planes can lead to environmental degradation. This is because planes’ operation not only requires a dramatic quantity of fuel but also releases many hazardous gases. Consequently, its considerable contribution to greenhouse gas emissions may accelerate climate change and present air pollution.

In conclusion, despite some potential benefits, I still believe that it is a negative idea. Ultimately, low-cost airlines can cause overcrowding and negatively affect the environment.