The increasing popularity of online language learning platforms has led to a decline in enrollment in traditional language schools. What are the potential benefits and drawbacks of this shift? To what extent do you think online language learning can fully replace traditional classroom instruction?

Online language learning apps are becoming more and more popular nowadays. That’s the reason of decline in enrollment in traditional schools. Some individuals believe that robotized studying is way more productive and efficient than face-to-face. On the other hand, many people don’t perceive robots as educators and think that nothing can replace human teachers. Personally, I don’t think that traditional classroom instruction is going to disappear; but they will become less widespread.

Actually, language apps can make education easier for learners by personalizing process, making it more productive and progressive. For instance, there’s an program “Duolingo”, it uses artificial intelligence in order to meet the needs and preferences of each student, while in classrooms explanations and tasks are the same for everyone. Moreover, statistics showed that millions of people enhanced languages with “Duo” last year and this number is going to increase in the near future.

However, there are some things that only humans can handle. Furthermore, androids don’t have ability to feel or to be empathetic. Being able to understand learners’ feelings makes human teachers important. For example, recently conducted by Alexander Ivanov research indicated that face-to-face learning is more useful for mental health than online studying. Moreover, robotized educational programs not only can be harmful for psychological state but also for eye health.

In my opinion, such programs as “Duolingo”, which are becoming more and more popular now, despite being harmful for mental and physical state, can bring tangible benefits for individuals who want to learn new languages. However, they can’t fully replace traditional learning instruction.