The international community must act immediately to ensure all nations reduce the consumption of fossil fuel (gas and oil). To what extent do you agree or disagree.

There is a school of thought that the problem of depleting fossil fuels require immediate attention of international communities. Personally, while I agree that reducing consumption of non-renewable energy is essential and unadvoidable, the question of how we can implement measures to reach this goal is far from straightforward and requires careful consideration from world leaders.

Switching to renewable, more sustainable energy is, without a doubt, the trend of the future. Excessive use of fossil fuels is one major cause of global warming, which has been shown to lead to more natural disasters or rising sea level. Thus, numerous governments around the world are encouraging its citizen to switch to more environmentally friendly alternatives such as solar or wind energy. These sources of power never run out, which is a huge advantage considering the fact that fossil fuels are depleting at an alarming rate. I believe that reducing gas and oil consumption will be a irresistible trend in the upcoming years, as people are gaining a clearer view of the contemporary enrironment picture.

However, the process of reducing the use fossil fuels need to be carefully calculated, as rushing this process might be counter-effective. Firstly, fossil fuels are a major part in every aspect of our lives, as they are used to power cars, factories, or even household appliances. The majority of the world is using fossil fuels on a daily basis, even when they are not aware of it. Because of that, it would be extremely hard, if not impossible, to change the mindset of people and governments in a short time. If international communities are too rigid on reducing fossil fuels consumption fast, instability in the political and economy landscape may arise. Secondly, renewable energy sources are not without its drawbacks. There are many concerns about toxic chemicals in solar panels being leaked into the soil after disposal, or the safety of nuclear plants that are used to generate electricity. Scientists and world leaders must thoroughly study both the pros and the cons of using alternative energy before exerting changes in a large, irreversable scale.

In conclusion, while I believe that international communities should encourage people of all nations to reduce the consumption of fossil fuels, such changes cannot happen immediately. In the near future, while greener alternatives are being studied and developed, we would still be dependent on non-renewable energy.