The international community must act immediately to ensure all nations reduce the consumption of fossil fuels (gas and oil). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, fossil fuels have increasingly become a driving force of economic development. However, the overconsumption of these finite sources of energy undoubtedly triggers serious damage to the global environment. I totally agree with the belief that curbing the use of fossil fuels is urgent and requires collective efforts from international communities.

First and foremost, fossil fuels serve as a catalyst for global warming and climate volatility. The burning of coal and gas releases tons of carbon dioxides and other emissions, resulting in the trapping of tremendous greenhouse gases and negatively affecting the ozone layer. The accumulated consequence is warmer global temperature and the unforeseen frequency of extreme weather extremes like tsunami and flooding of low-lying areas. This is not to mention the eradication of countless ecosystems and dangers posed to flora and fauna of uncontrolled burning. In this sense, urgent intervention plays a key role in deterring climate change and preserving our world.

Another justification for reducing the use of fossil fuels lies in their finitude. The extraction of these sources of energy over many decades has resulted in their depletion, while gases and oils take substantial time to form and exploit. Once completely depleted, the power and resources required for transportation, industry, and other vital areas inevitably disappear, taking a passive toll on nations’ economy and standard of life. Even when countries switch to other green alternatives like solar energy and wind power, it would be insufficient and not financially feasible to accommodate a massive population. As such, global efforts to lessen nations’ consumption of these rare resources remains urgent and decisive in preventing such a terrible scenario.

In conclusion, I am totally convinced that the global community should take intermediate measures in limiting the consumption of fossil fuels. Not only do timely actions help preserve our environment but they also hinder the risks of energy depletion and contribute to long-term world stability.