The international community must act immediately to ensure all nations reduce the consumption of fossil fuels (gas and oil). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, environmental pollution has reached an alarming level all around the world. This has become a controversial issue and some claim that international authorities must introduce measures regarding reducing the consumption of fossil fuels such as gas and oil. This essay will elaborate on this point of view and explain why I firmly believe that it is the most effective solution, as this broad issue can only be dealet with collaboration.

To begin with, local organizations and individuals try to mitigate pollution. For instance, people choose public transport intead of private cars and produce energy through solar pannels in their home, however, their small actions are not lasting. In contrast, the worldwide community can make noticeable differences through agrements, launching campaigns and meeting with political leaders. A case in point, Ramsar Agreement has implemented a few decades ago and protected myriad water sources.

Furthermore, these kind of steps should be taken regarding reducing the consumption of gas and oil, as these fossil fuels cause extinction of species and loss of biodiversity. For example, the recent research conducted by WHO demonstrates that 190 species have become extinct and this rate will be higher in the near future. However, international acts such as stricter penalties to factories may decrease overall usage. Moreover, these organizations not only should restrict entities but also provide sustainable alternatives such as encouraging governments to replace fossil fuel sources with wind power and solar pannels.

Considering all of the above, the consumption of gas and oils which pose threats on living creatures’ lives and biodiversity should be addressed through the international community. Although the small actions are still taken, I firmly opine that worldwide cooperation has the power to curb the situation.