The internet allows us to stay connected with each other no matter where we are. On the other hand, it also isolates us and encourages people not to socialise. To what extent do you agree or disagree with these statements?

The internet gives us the opportunity to be in contact even though we live in different parts of the world. Nevertheless, it not only pushes people to stay isolated but also, could negatively influence people’s behaviour related to socialization. Through this essay, I will explain how it happens. In addition, I will give my own opinion about it and why I agree with this statement.

Firstly, thanks to the internet, it is possible to buy everything you need to survive directly from home. This utility discourages people to get outside their houses with the result that without noticing , they spend the entire day without talking with anybody. For example, getting outside only to buy some food could be a way to meet new people and make new friends.

Moreover, the comfort of socialising through the Internet without moving from your own house could bring people to be lazy. Laziness often causes isolation and in some cases depression. For instance, according to some studies conducted during the Covid-19, people that worked remotely for a long period were more subject to be affected by depression.

In conclusion, thanks to the internet it is possible to have a lot of commodities like ordering food or other staff directly from your place but at the same time, it could affect negatively the mindset of people and bring them to be lazy and sometimes depressed. In my opinion, we have to use this great instrument in a proper way, without be exaggerated in order to avoid these negative effects.