The internet has revolutionized communication. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the widespread use of the internet. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The communication process has been modernized by the internet. This essay will demonstrate that, although internet has some demerits, at the end of the day the benefits of the internet in communication sector outweighs the disadvantages. The essay will first discuss about how the internet made it easier to communicate with others by making the whole process faster and more advanced. Later on the essay it will be discussed about some of the drawbacks regarding security and privacy concerns.

The main benefit the internet brings is that it made communication easier than ever before, we can now communicate with anyone from any part of the world with just a few clicks. For an example, previously people used to write letter and sent it to the receiver through a mail which is a time-consuming process, but now we can email or call someone and can connect with them instantly. Earlier in science-fiction books there used to be stories about the people from different geographical location are communicating with each other with a live video of the other person broadcasted infront of them, internet turned this fiction into a reality.

Internet communication has created some difficulties regarding maintaining the privacy and security of the information. Hackers and intruders are eavesdropping the information, violating the privacy of the sender and receiver. For an example, many times it happened that an intruder collected a confidential information and later on, they scammed someone using that information.

Overall, the chance of misusing internet can be mitigated by the advancement of technology. Modern encryption system, blockchain technology are some of the examples which can provide security and privacy of the information. On the other hand, internet communication is creating new scopes in tele-medicine, freelancing and education. That is why, this communication system is far more beneficial then its negative aspects.