The main purpose of advertising is to increase the sales of products that people don't really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays advertising has a great influence on people’s choices, prompting them to buy numerous number of things which have negligible value. I strongly agree that advertising manipulates a significant number of people into purchasing items they do not necessarily need.

Firstly, many companies view advertising as a approach to make people buy something even if they do not need that in order to make a profit. Numerous mundane things that people do not commonly want they present as exclusive product for the purpose of selling in enormous amounts, thus getting a generous revenue. For instance, the shelf life of common electronic devices can be in range of a few years, but consumers are persuaded that even their latest smartphones need to be upgraded within a year, by promoting new gadgets annually making them squander money on goods they do not need at the moment.

Secondly, advertising often deceive people with a perfect picture they might buy, instead of highlighting the real benefit of certain products. For example, many corporations pay famous people to endorse their items which is encourages people to buy things they would never actually think of. Society is inundated with various forms of advertising, starting from celebrities they follow, ending with endless prompts in social medias, which is creating artificial demand and manipulates various number of consumers into buying unnecessary products.

In conclusion, I completely agree that in modern world advertising is used often in order to make a profit or persuade people into getting things they would not actually consider buying.