The main purpose of advertising is to increase the sales of products that people don't really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people say that the sole purpose of advertising is to make people purchase things they do not really need. From my point of view, this is partially true because advertising plays a tremendous role in altering customer purchasing behaviour and, as a result, generating companies’ revenue. However, I believe that advertising also has various advantages and can provide valuable information about items so people can find what they are truly looking for.

Admittedly, advertising drives levels of sales and one of its main purposes is to persuade people to buy the promoted goods. Experts apply various techniques and track purchasing trends and patterns so they could keep the customers hooked and the latter would not be able to resist the temptation of placing the order. What is more, recently companies introduced machine learning based algorithms that create customized suggestions and advertisements of what people may like which, in turn, lead to a better understanding of consumer psychology and are aimed at increasing sales and profit.

Nevertheless, I do not support the idea that advertising is purely about creating tricks and traps for people as advertisements can serve as a tool for learning key aspects of the product. For instance, advertisements for medical clinics and services may help people make a wise health-related choice or even encourage them to schedule an annual check-up. Moreover, advertisements for counselling may help seek assistance for those who are struggling with mental health problems.

In conclusion, although I agree that advertising is aimed at reaching higher levels of sales, I still believe that it is not its sole purpose as advertising can serve as a positive tool for many people.