The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Science has significantly influenced human life. However, I’m afraid I have to disagree with the statement that improving the public’s lives should be the essential purpose of science, as I believe that wildlife preservation has the same importance. It can even result in severe damage to various species’ lives.

The animals and plants might become extinct due to prioritizing people’s lives in scientific research. Humans have always been interested in finding ways to live longer, and much scientific research has been conducted. Many scientific figures devote their time and energy to providing human beings a much longer life. It will result in higher life expectancy, which might be considered a positive achievement. However, I believe that higher life expectancy will result in more demand for food and residency for people. To provide living, the inhabitants of many species will be abolished and replaced with accommodation for the burgeoning population. Food will also be a significant concern, and more animals will be slaughtered to nourish the people. Therefore, it will destroy the ecosystem and result in the extinction of many scarce animals, such as pandas and tigers.

On the other hand, science research is time-consuming and highly expensive. For instance, the astronomy outfit for a space exploration conducted a few decades ago was about eighteen million dollars. A government can tackle a series of economic or social issues with that money in a concise amount of time.

In conclusion, I’m afraid I have to disagree that improving people’s lives should be the main priority of science, as it will lead to the deterioration of plants and animals. Several social problems will be solved in many countries if governments spend the scientific budget on solving economic and social issues.