The natural resources such as oil, forests and fresh water are being consumed at an alarming rate. What problems does it cause? How can we solve these problems?

The rate at which natural resources are being depleted is causing great concern. This trend brings about harmful effects to the environment such as biodiversity loss and air pollution, which could be tackled by the enactment of stricter laws and the employment of greener energy sources.

There are various issues which are caused by the over-consumption of natural resources. One of the biggest consequences is the decline in the number of living species. Due to long-term human activities such as excessive logging and clearance of forests for farming, wildlife is deprived of their natural habitat. If this situation prolongs, they may even go extinct. In addition, the burning of fossil fuels such as oil and coal leaves detrimental impacts on the air quality. When fossil fuels are burned, they release harmful chemicals and particles into the atmosphere, which heavily contaminates the air.

However, several solutions can be implemented to cope with these problems. First, the government could impose heavy taxes on forest exploitation activities that endanger wildlife. This would discourage people from conducting unsustainable practices of using forest space. Moreover, the fines collected can be invested in biodiversity conservation campaigns. Another solution is to shift to alternative energy. Instead of burning fossil fuels for energy, renewable energy sources such as biomass, wind or solar power can be utilized. These types of energy produce little to no air pollutants; therefore, creating a fresher atmosphere.

In conclusion, the excessive use of natural resources is causing animals to lose their homes and deteriorating the air quality. However, these problems can be mitigated by the government taking strict actions against deforestation and harnessing eco-friendly substitutions for energy.