The number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of this and what are the solutions for this problem?

In many professional sports, it is becoming commonplace for athletes to abuse prohibited substances to boost their overall performance. This essay will discuss how stiff competition and lax testing systems are the main cause of this problem, and the most suitable solutions are providing heavier punishments on violators and restructured testing facilities.

The main cause of this problem is the wild competition that exists in any sport. In other words, many professional athletes feel that they have to take substances like steroids to give themselves more healthy or fit over their strong components. Another reason is the lack of strictness in testing procedures. Many athletes who take advantage of bent substances can still participate their role in testing systems. For example, a high-profile mixed martial artist named Jon John, who is notorious for using PED, described how easy it was to get away with cheating in an interview in 2015.

A viable solution is to heavily punish lawbreakers. If sports clubs and governments raise the fine for using substances, many athletes will think twice before making an attempt to cheat. Another step to address it to deal with this issue is to upgrade testing amenities. This will destroy any hole existing in the system and ensure that the test result is highly accurate. For instance, after the UFC had made major investments to provide their staff with the latest testing equipment, many fighters in their organization got caught

In conclusion. Strong competition and ineffective testing systems are the main reasons of this problem, and the most suitable solutions are enforcing harsher punishments on violators and reforming testing facilities.