The number of overweight children in developed countries is increasing. Some people think this is due to problems such as the growing number of fast food outlets. Others believe that parents are to blame for not looking after their children's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree with these views? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The problem of overweight in children has been increasing rapidly these days. According to some people, it is due to the fact that fast food outlets are increasing rapidly, whereas others believe parents are responsible for it. Both the facts that, number of fast food restaurants are increasing and lack of attention of parents towards their children’s health are responsible for such misery.

In todays generation, the need to survive has led to a situation where working has become mandatory. In between managing professional and working life, parents sometimes tend to choose an easy way out by offering some money to their children in order to buy a store bought food or lean towards fast-food chains. Let us take an example of a developed country The USA, where most parents are working professionals and depends mostly on pre-cooked meals as an alternative to home-cooked meals. In such situations, parents are to blame for not looking after their children’s health.

Conversely, the growing number of fast food outlets and their unmanaged and unhealthy way of cooking has lead to intake of high calories, resulting in overweight. As fast-food outlets offer food within short amount of time, the meals need to be ready-to-go and is premade. Such premade foods are reheated before serving, which is unhealthy for a child to consume as it contains more calorie than a freshly made food.

In conclusion, parents should make time for their children and should opt for home cooked meals rather than fast foods, as it is responsible for the increased number of overweight children.