The number of people who are interested in and wearing fashionable clothes is increasing. Is this a positive or negative development?

An increasing number of people are generally obsessed with fashion and wearing fashionable clothing. Although this can be seen as positive due to factors such as free self-expression, it is a negative trend as a whole because of environmental and ethical considerations.

As the impact of fashionable clothes has been increasing, many people are provided with a variety of clothes. In fact, wearing fashionable clothes makes people feel good about themselves, it can boost confidence and self-esteem. This, in turn, is particularly important for those who are faced with challenges or discrimination, allowing them to reclaim their sense of self and project a positive image. Thus, wearing them can enhance individualism, which is likely why some people see the given tendency as a positive development.

Nonetheless, it is evident that the rise of fashion may lead to environmental problems. To be specific, the manufacture of cloth usually requires natural fibers like cotton and an excessive amount of water resources, while synthetic fibers rely on fossil fuels, contributing to resource depletion and greenhouse gas emissions. Take cotton shirts as an example, it takes around 2,700 liters of water, just over 713 gallons to produce one of them. This is one of the issues that can contribute to the ongoing waste management crisis. If the same trend continues, the contemporary world’s disposable culture can lead to larger ecological crises.

Another major concern related to fashion’s increased influence is consumerism, which, in turn, may lead to ethical issues. In simpler terms, to satisfy increased demands, more clothing items should be produced, but it has been noted in recent decades that numerous companies used sweetshops for their benefit. By definition, a sweetshop is a small factory where every employee is paid small wages, and they work in poor conditions. Thus, brands engage in unethical practices to maximize their benefits, and there have already been some high-profile cases involving companies such as Nike.

In summary, even though fashion’s massive influence can help people in terms of self-expression, this trend may have a adverse impact on the environment like a lack of resources and gas emissions. Therefore, it is crucial to recognize its negative sides.