The number of people who choose to get married is likely to be lower in the future than it is now. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The ongoing debate over whether the number of people who choose to get married will decrease in the future sparks controversy. While some people may argue that this is unlikely to be true since getting married is a relevant ritual in society and it is a life goal to some individuals, others claim that the number of weddings is declining over time since it is becoming increasingly expensive, and people are prioritising other achievements in life. I do agree with the latter point of view, especially as these formalities are becoming unaffordable to most adults, and young workers need to dedicate more time to their work.

On the one hand, some people can defend that getting married is an important milestone to individuals, as it is often associated with cultural aspects of societies. For example, in many cultures, getting married is an official and religious sign that two individuals want to start a family and build a future together. Moreover, to some people, wed someone is a dream, since this ritual has been widely romanticised by popular movies and books over the years. Thus, some people may say that the number of weds is unlikely to drop in the future.

However, getting married is becoming less common among young adults in today’s society. Firstly, since prices are elevated due to inflation and economic crises, people tend to have fewer resources to invest in getting married, which is normally expensive. Not only must the couple pay for the legal documentation of the union, but they are also expected to afford a party to their guests, and purchase items such as a wedding dress, which tend to be costly. Furthermore, young adults are spending more time in their jobs, as the work environment is becoming highly competitive, and they are forced to carry out more tasks on a daily basis. Hence, the number of people engaged tend to decline in the long run as they might not have time to build ties with another individual.

In summary, although some people might say that getting married is a ritual of society and it is extremely idealised, I do believe that “marriage culture” is likely to become less popular in the future. The number of people who choose to get married is likely to be lower in the future because it is a costly event, and, as prices grow over time, many individuals will not have the capital to afford it. Finally, young adults are allocating more time to their jobs, leaving a small fraction of their lives to meet other people and potential love interests.