The only way to solve the increasing crime rate of young offenders is to teach parents better parenting skills. To what extent do you agree?

Is a good parenting the only away to decrease the crime rates of young criminals? I partly agree with the statement and the reasons for my opinion will be outlined in the following paragraphs.

Teenagers nowadays are becoming more and more impulsive and triggered than ever before, therefore, it becomes difficult for parents to control them. Moreover, a large number of teenagers are isolated due to the time they spend on social media, and online gaming that can negatively impact on teenagers’ psychology- making them anxious, nervous, and aggressive. Additionally, social environment and abusive family conditions are the factors that negatively effect teenagers’ psychological development and mental well-being. Teenagers who have such kinds of background are more luckily to commit crime later in their lives.

On the other hand, parents have a true impact on their children’s psychological and mental well-being. By careful parenting and frequent communicating with a child, a parent can build a strong emotional relationship with he or she. Furthermore, the stronger the relationship with the parents is, the happier and more emotionally resilient the child becomes. In such a way, a parent can become an authority figure for a child. This in its turn, positively effects teenagers psychology and protects him or her from a negative influence of surrounding.

In conclusion, although a good parenting can be considered as a good way to decrease crime rates of young criminals; the social surroundings and negative impact can be seen as reasons to increasing crime rates. I consider a good parenting as one of the ways to help teenagers become healthy people who do not have any negative criminal background.