The percentage of overweight children in Western countries has increased by almost 20% in last ten years. Discuss the disturbing causes and effects of this trend.

Health is one of the important factors to lead a happy life. In order to give challenges for the same, there are umpteen diseases exist in the world. Out of which obesity is an alarming concern among everyone especially children. For the past decade, Obesity is prevalent in western society and the percentage keeps on increasing. In this essay, we will discuss about the causes and effects of obesity which exists as a disturbing trend.

Obesity or overweight occurs due to several reasons such as heredity, improper food habits and lack of exercises. In general, the amount of food intake must be directly proportional to the amount of physical activity. On an elaborate note, if we consume more food, the required amount of calories must be burnt by our body so that accumulation of fat deposits can be avoided. However, children for the past decade are not much into physical activities such as playing outdoor games, or any form of exercises resulting in overweight at a very young age. Additionally in western society, people tend to eat unhealthy junk foods such as pizza, pasta and food items made of maida because of which body is not taking enough nutrients inside leading to obesity.

Few of the children are affected by obesity on account of genetical factors which is inherited from their family members.

Owing to obesity, there are high chances of getting harmful effects to society. If the percentage of obese or overweight children increases, then the life span will be limited. Eventually, lot of other diseases such as cardiovascular diseases and cancer will arise followed by obesity. Therefore, it is important for the children to regulate the food habits and optimize it from young age itself so that they can be a good example to upcoming generations and lead a healthy life by supporting the proverb ‘Health is Wealth’