The quality of life in many large cities is currently becoming worse. Why is this? What measures can be introduced to tackle this issue?

Nowadays the the quality of life in megapolises are getting worse due to the urban sprawl. While there a several advantages of living in big cities, there a numerous social problems that lead to the declining of overall life quality. However, I belive that there are solutions for this widespread problem.

Firstly, on of the main problem of living in large cities is that accomadation rent costs a fortune. For example, in such big megapolices as New York a great number of people with average salary are not able to afford to rent a property . This, in turn, forces especially younger generation to share an accomadation with other people, or purchasing property outside the city and having to spend a lot of time on commuting each day. In addition,the second problem is crime rates. In most cases low enforcement agencies struggling with providing proper safety in some parts of the city. Consequently, it leads to the frequent violence or robbery on streets. Moreover, in conditions like this women and kids are highly endangered.

In my opinion there a some solutions for these issues. Firstly, local people need to pressure governments and official authoriries to be in charge of proper residential areas as well as affordable accomadations. Consequently, more and more people, especially with average salary, would not stress about rent payment. Another solution is probably that authorities need to ensure that the level of education, job opportunities and financial support for people are being provided properly. Undoubdetly, it would make huge differences in terms of increasing the quality of life. Hence, the better financial support and opportunities for education as well as for job governments provide on a daily basis, the more favorable social atmosphere and the lower crime rates they are able to create in big cities.

In conclusion, although living in megapolise may sound fancy, there are numerous problems that people need to be aware about. I am convinced that official authorities possess significant resourses to solve this issue and they need to put more effort in order to do it.