The restoration of historic buildings in major cities around the world involves significant government expenditure. These funds could be better allocated towards the development of new housing and road infrastructure. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that instead of expending significant sums of money on restoring historic buildings, governments should allocate these funds on new accommodations and road development. I partly agree with this opinion, and this essay will give reasons for my view.

On the one hand, it is necessary for governments to restore historic buildings, since they hold important historical qualities. By restoring historical buildings, the younger generations are given an opportunity to see the past through quality remains. Many buildings built in the past allows younger generations to understand their community’s history better, fostering a sense of patriotism and pride in young people towards their country. This, in turn, teaches younger generations to empathize with older ones, which ultimately incentivizes young people to contribute to societal development to honor their older counterparts. For instance, Vietnam’s Hoa Lo prison relic is often quality checked, offering visitors an immersive experience into Vietnamese history. This building reminds younger generations of the sacrifices of older generations, encouraging the youth to develop their country and maintain peace.

On the other hand, the development of housing and road infrastructure is also important in societies. Since many societies are becoming increasingly populated, good road maintenance and housing development is essential in order to maintain a satisfactory life quality. By investing in accommodations and improving road conditions, governments can resolve issues such as traffic congestion, overcrowded cities or housing shortages. Consequently, citizens can also benefit from an improving city layout, as they do not have to compete for housing and endure congested commutes, reducing overall health risks and stress levels. For example, a well-developed street network is able to prevent traffic jams as well as improve driving quality, allowing for smooth commutes to work and reducing driver stress.

In conclusion, while restoring historic building is important for teaching history, housing and road improvements must also be funded to ensure good quality of life. It is essential that governments take a holistic approach, preserving past relics while also improving city life.