The rise of automation and artificial intelligence is affecting many industries. Do the advantages of automation in jobs outweigh the disadvantages?

The issue of demand in robotics and computer systems is escalating, and spontaneously, they are hitting hard the working corporations correspondingly, generating considerable debate. Some argue that the advantages of high technology wide-spreading in work industries far exceed its disadvantages. This essay will examine both the benefits and drawbacks. In my opinion, the pros outweigh the cons, which I will discuss in the upcoming paragraphs, along with apt examples and reasons.

One of the primary positive sides of using artificial intelligence is the significant savings in productivity as well as time and energy efficiency. This is largely due to the fact that robots take less time and energy to operate any mammoth problem. A good example is machine algorithms such as MRI, CT scan, and X-rays, which are widely used in healthcare to diagnose problems at first sight. Moreover, self-driven technology greatly helps conserve costs, which can be used for research, development and innovation compared to spending on repetitive and time-consuming tasks. Therefore, cost-efficiency and streamlined operations are both advantageous because both are far-reaching and impactful.

On the other hand, the prominent downside of using automation in enterprises is the elevation in unemployment. This can be attributed to covering up the place of humans by machines, which not only gives rise to job insecurity but also leads to many malfunctions that robots can do irrespective of the individual. For instance, research was conducted in 2020 in Tokyo, which shows 70% of employees did not have jobs as most of the work was done by automotive machines. In addition, a trained and educated person must be needed to control robots, which requires extra computing skills, which would be a hard job for businesses to find out. Thus, despite of the technology benefits, its drawbacks cannot be overlooked.

To recapitulate, while artificial intelligence in diverse professions acquires certain negative aspects, its positive aspects are more logical and compelling. In my perspective, although governments and companies are towards the long-term usage of technology, they have to give training about automation to the employees so that they will enhance their knowledge.