The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern lifestyle. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The increase in processed foods has helped individuals keep up with the velocity of today’s lifestyle. These foods have many benefits to us, but there are some drawbacks too.

One positive side of ready-made meals is that they are such a time saver. A majority of people are very busy with work, studies, etc. these days, thus they don’t have time to spend hours on food. For instance, after a long and tiring day with my family, instead of cooking food with that exhaustion, we like to order food from outside. Another example is that sometimes when I come home to no food after school, I enjoy making quick noodles. On these occasions, choosing convenience food is extremely convenient and the best choice to save time.

However, pre-prepared food contains lots of additives, artificial flavours, unhealthy fats and many more. We receive most of the nutritions humans need from the food we consume. As processed foods lack nutritions, relying too much on these can result in health problems such as obesity, diabetes, and heart diseases.

In conclusion, convenience foods have many positive sides, especially in time saving. However we must consider that if over consumed, it can lead to serious problems. To prevent this, individuals can choose as healthy processed foods as possible when needed.