The shortage of housing in big cities can cause severe consequences. Only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, there are some emerging consequences related to the shortages of accommodations in big cities. While I agree that government can solve these problems due to their substantial resources, I believe that other organizations could take steps to mitigate the consequences as well.

The government plays a pivotal role in mitigating these consequences through its unparalleled resources. These resources could be channelled into some large-scale housing projects and urban development initiatives to increase the housing supply in urban areas, enabling a multitude of people access to shelter. After settling down, they secure a job, and then pay a part of their income as taxes back to the government’s resources. I believe this is a win-win situation as it not only lifts resident’s standard of living but also boosts the nation’s progress. However, the government alone can not address the issues radically but requires collaboration with other organizations.

Some other bodies and parties can cooperate with governments to lessen the impact of the housing shortages. Non-governmental organizations and charities, for example, can offer assistance in providing temporary housing solutions because the government’s plans and campaigns often take some time to become practical. Banks and other financial institutions can also support governments in housing plans or run some programs to assist low-income individuals and families in accessing housing loans. With this assistance, the financial strain put on the government can be ameliorated.

In conclusion, that a bulk of people can not access housing in some cities has caused severe social implications. From my perspective, to address this pressing issue, a holistic approach is the collaboration of government and other parties, such as charities and banks