The shortage of housing in big cities can cause severe consequences. Only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the major concerns of contemporary society is overcrowded metropolises, where the lack of accommodation is typically observed. In this regard, some people assert that only governments are able to address such an issue. Although I believe that official regulations and resolutions are the best approach and can make a huge difference, I contend that actions taken by industries can have an influence as well.

Indeed, authorities’ role is imperative in addressing housing challenges in largely populated areas. Primarily, it is important to consider that the core of the problem is advantageous features of big cities that draw the attention of younger generations, who, in turn, are eager for new opportunities. It is widely acknowledged that big cities offer better prospects for virtually every area—education, employment, amenities, and many more. Therefore, by equipping countrysides with competitive advantages—constructing new universities and education centers, encouraging companies to build their firms in countrysides or in lesser populated areas, and providing subsidies for those who reside there—we might pivot young people’s attention from metropolitan cities. These resolutions, however, are only possible with substantial investments, which an individual person cannot afford to invest.

On the other hand, I maintain that companies can have a significant impact as well, especially considering they might benefit from the effect that they have made. Taking into account the fact that a considerable number of people migrating to cities seek better employment opportunities and higher income relative to the cost of living, and that in countrysides lands are cheaper to purchase or rent and, in most cases, are readily available compared to big cities. Factories could be built and firms could be established in such regions in order to ensure competitive salaries and professional development, lessening overall demand for accommodations in cities in question by attracting those who are pursuing higher income.

To conclude, while I acknowledge that authorities’ effort is required to make a substantial shift in the shortage of housing in big cities, I am convinced that business can make a valuable contribution by stimulating development in rural areas.