The shortage of housing in big cities can cause severe consequences. Only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals maintain that the lack of housing in some major cities can have detrimental consequences, which can only be solved by the government. From my perspective, while it is true that the government plays a pivotal role, businesses should also join hands to tackle this problem.

On the one hand, the authority can address this issue by regulating house prices as well as offer land to their citizens at affordable prices. The root of the housing problem mainly lies in the fact that high-income individuals in our society possess the majority of real estate, then sell them at exorbitant prices. This problem is beyond the control of the commoners, thus requires immediate interference from the authority. This can be done by imposing restrictions on the number of land plots or properties that one can legally own. As a result, this is instrumental in preventing the inflation of real estate, making owning a house no longer beyond the reach of citizens. Furthermore, the government can sell land plots or provide them for hire with cheap prices. This serves as a temporary solution, enabling people to fully focus on earning money and buy their own houses in the future.

While acknowledging the central role of the government in addressing the above-mentioned issues, I firmly believe that businesses can also make some valuable contributions. This is due to corporate social responsibility initiatives, in which businesses allocate

financial resources to society and gain advantages in return. To be more specific, it is recommended that companies provide affordable properties for people, which can be an effective marketing strategy. For example, Vingroup corporations sell apartment complexes in their construction projects with low prices, making them a household name in Vietnam.

In conclusion, it is true that the government’s actions are essential for dealing with the scarcity of houses, businesses should share this responsibility for the sake of social well-being and their own financial gains.